Kitchen Cupboard to Cabinet of Curiosities

Most of my street finds get sold at the market these days. But every now and then I find something that I just have to keep for myself. During the wonderful joy that is the council cleanup, I picked up a kitchen wall unit, with three glass doors. Sure it was filthy, with a missing side and no back. And yes, it was full of rat poop, but that just adds to the challenge.
I had a wonderful ‘before’ photograph, but in the excitement of snapping photos of gorgeous old warehouses at port Adelaide last night, I accidentally deleted it. So let me describe. It was brown, and filthy. Yep, that just about covers it.
After a very thorough clean and scrub, I nailed a piece of masonite to the side, and screwed little wooden legs to it. I found a whole box of curvy wooden legs of all shapes and sizes on the side of the road. Yay!!
I haven’t put a back on the cupboard yet. I think I’ll put a mirror on it, one day.

I know red paint likes a grey undercoat, but pale blue was all I had on hand. In hindsight I should have removed the handles. But a quick clean up with a wire brush sorted them out at the end.

After a couple of coats of gloss red (still my favourite), I scratched up the edges to make it look a bit aged. It’s filled with all sorts of treasures, freeing up lots of display space in my house for MORE STUFF!!!!
Just kidding. This time of year is my clean out time. Where I have a massive clean out and tidy frenzy, creating a fresh start for the New Year.
Have a happy and creative 2015 my friends. Expect to see a lot more action here on the blog.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Cupboard to Cabinet of Curiosities

Leave a Reply

