Pimp My Bauble

Christmas is creeping ever closer. I’d like to say I’m fabulously organised……. but that would be a big, fat lie. So much to do, so little time. I’m planning on making lots of Christmas presents this year. But more about that later.

I’ve been creating things out of the treasures I have collected in my travels with a view to selling them at craft markets. The last market I did was successful so I’m keen to do more, as well as offer things for sale here at The Fabulous Scavenger.

But I digress. Today I want to show you how I customised some plain silver plastic baubles, picked up for a steal at a thrift store. So come with me and pimp my bauble.

Here’s what I had to work with. A big bag of silver baubles that only cost me $1.50. Bargain. They are great as they are, but there’s always room for improvement right? So I created three different looks that are easy to achieve.

The first look gives the appearance of vintage, peeling mirror. All you need is some black acrylic paint and a paint brush. Oh, and just a heads up. Pink paint stains…. paintbrushes, clothes, children.

Just dab on black paint (use a dry brush with very little paint) in a stabbing motion, lightly covering the bauble randomly. I then tied a strip of shibori dyed fabric I had from previous craft projects on to it to hang.

Excuse the fact that my reflection appears in every single photo!

 

For the next look, I used a bright ribbon, and a spotty feather. You could attach anything though.  A small silk flower, or a piece of costume jewellery like a brooch, or perhaps a vintage style key.

This couldn’t be simpler. I first tied a length of ribbon to hang, then with a shorter piece of ribbon I secured the feather to the bauble and tied a bow.

The final look needs some glue and some decorative paper. I used a piece of music manuscript. wrapping paper, or even pages from a book would work too. Use your imagination.

I tore strips of paper, then glued them to the bauble, smoothing them out around the round shape. I left lots of silver showing, then tied on jute string to hang.

Three variations. All beautiful. These are so easy the kids could help you. We’ve been having lots of craft sessions here, and the kids love getting involved.

What do you think? Do you have any old baubles hanging around that could used a bit of a revamp? I’d love to hear about this or any craft projects you’re involved with.

2 thoughts on “Pimp My Bauble

  1. Great ideas Sam! I saw another cute idea the other day. Crochet covered baubles! So cute but not nearly as quick and easy as yours!

    • Thanks Renea! Crochet covered baubles would be gorgeous. Maybe if I started now I could have them finished by Christmas 2014……….. maybe. Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

