Pretty In Pink

Finally, after a break of way too long, I’m back!
My apologies for the lengthy wait. But here I am, back with a fabulous treasure I picked up on the side of the road a couple of weeks ago. A dressing table! The wonderful former owner of this piece even helped me load it into my car, went and found string to tie the boot down, then asked me in for drinks! Some people are just nice.

It’s solid wood, with lovely curved drawer fronts, dovetail joints. Perfection. I decided to remove the rail at the back, which was simply attached with screws, then give it a coat of paint (or four coats of paint. Note to self, a white undercoat is a great idea. do it next time).

I’m currently experiencing a love affair with pink, so there really was no choice when it came to paint colour. Mind you it will probably have many colour changes before I decide what suits it best. It lives in the entrance hall, where it makes a wonderful phone table, with lots of storage in the drawers for my son’s rapidly expanding collection of X Box games. Underneath it I’m storing shoes in an old ammunition crate.

Much to my delight, glass display domes are in fashion and I picked these up for a bargain price at a discount store.

The white bird cage was a lucky thrift store find. and only $5.00. The domes hold all kinds of treasures, including feathers and a metal plate with peeling letters that I picked up on a walk, a flower borrowed from a neighbours garden, vintage bottles, a wooden box of rubber stamps, and a metal skull that my Dad gave me which I remember from my childhood. All valuable treasures indeed.

A big thank you to everyone who has waited patiently for my return. I appreciate your support and I promise it won’t be so long between drinks (blog posts…..you know what I mean) from now on.

6 thoughts on “Pretty In Pink

  1. Welcome back! What a great find. I think it looks fabulous in pink! I have an old, shellac coated dressing table that lives in my daughters room; it would look much better with a coat of colour. You’ve inspired me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

