The Things I Drag Home!

Sometimes I see something on the side of the road, and I know it’s probably just a hunk of junk, but I love a challenge and it comes home with me anyway. I picked up a piece of turned wood, perhaps from a staircase, in the council cleanup the other day. At the time I had no idea what to do with it, but the collector in me just couldn’t let it go.
Well, naturally I’ve managed to find a home for it among the other thrifty treasures. Lets see what you think.

Obviously it makes a good candlestick. I left it unpainted because I like it’s faded glamour.




And then I did this. I don’t really know what to call it. A platform perhaps. What ever it is it looks great on my mantle, displaying repurposed medicine bottle vases.
I also think it would look great attached to the wall with brackets, for use as a shelf. Small decorative items could be displayed on the flat areas on the ends. Or, a glass shelf could rest on top.
It’s amazing how much potential can be found in throw away items, so keep your eyes peeled for treasures near you!

6 thoughts on “The Things I Drag Home!

Leave a Reply

