Ladder to the Stars

This has been an exciting couple of weeks for me. Council clean up! All the junk you can imagine, piled out onto the streets. Treasures just waiting to be rescued and transformed. Today’s side of the road find is a ladder. I’ve wanted one forever, and finally the Garbage Gods have smiled apon me.



It’s wooden and very heavy, with just the perfect amount of crusty, peeling paint. Score! The bit jutting out at the top had to go, so I gave my son a hammer and seconds later, the job was done. After a good clean I brought it into the house, only to find it was about a foot too tall. No problem. Out came the saw, I lopped off the legs and voila, perfect.


First up, towel rack. I’ve always loved ladder towel racks. Unfortunately my bathroom is tiny and won’t accommodate such a large piece, but you get the idea.


Here it is being used in the bedroom as a bookshelf. Imagine how glorious it would look with my collection of Penguin paperbacks. I spared you yet another photo of them though! It would also look great displaying my collection of thrift store scarves.


And here it is in the lounge room, where I’ve decided it will live from now on. It looks great as an art display.
What do you think? I know you can buy decorative ladder towel racks new, but doesn’t this one have much more character.

20 thoughts on “Ladder to the Stars

  1. That is one awesome find lady!! Love everything you’ve done with it! You would love this idea too…..my girlfriend that recently opened a cafè, stole her kids’ cubby house ladder and turned it sideways then hung little blackboards in between the rungs to write her specials on, then hung it on the wall! It looks fab, I’ll have to take a photo for you because I don’t know if I’ve explained it very well.

  2. Hi there, I stumbled upon your site through Google while seeking a
    comparable subject, your website came up, it appears to be great.
    I’ve bookmarked it into my google bookmarks.

  3. We are really impressed together with your writing abilities along with when using the format on your own blog-.
    Is that this a paid subject or maybe you have customize it on your own?

    Anyway stay inside the nice quality writing, it can be rare
    to determine a great weblog just like it currently..

Leave a Reply

