Creative Display – Art and Photography

Usually I post a colour combination on wednesday, but today I feel like doing something a little bit different. (and if the truth be known, I haven’t photographed the colour combination post yet, actually I haven’t even decided what the colours should be!) So, instead of colour inspiration, may I present to you a few suggestions of ways to display your art and photographs.


I think you all know my favourite way of displaying art – the art wall. I’ve giving my lounge room wall a bit of a tweak recently, changing the colours and the artwork. I’ve used larger pieces, so there’s less on the wall, and I’ve taken down the mint green works and replaced them with a red and pink theme. To achieve this look, I started with a main artwork in the centre, then worked my way out, leaving some gaps, and also using the occasional statue or number, to break up the rectangular shapes.

My little daughter also has an art wall. Pink of course. It includes art works I’ve created for her, as well as her name, inexpensive canvasses, art prints and framed greeting cards. I created this wall to draw attention away from the ugly bar heater in the middle of the space.

Wall stickers have become enormously popular, and used well, can create a great display. Here, I’ve used two wall stickers on the bathroom mirror. The bluebird tattoo design is a nod to my Husband, a Tattooist. I also like them stuck on canvasses, or stuck to simple lamp shades.


These photographs of Montreal rust are by artist/photographer Zombling, and are available at Society 6, a great site for affordable art. I chose simple, black frames with white mat board so as not to detract from the colourful, abstract images. I’ve used blue objects in this display to mirror the vibrant colour of the photography. My blue crate makes a great platform for a vase of lilies, a blue thrift store plant pot, and a couple of vintage apothecary bottles. In the bottom photo, I’ve included an empty, ornate lime green frame on the wall to pick up the colour of the lily stems. Who says blue and green should never be seen? Not me!

Black and white portrait photography looks great displayed in glass jars. I’ve included framed pieces as well to keep the display interesting. You could also try postcards, or children’s artworks. The possibilities are endless. I’ve added the flower for a hint of colour.


Tiny postcards in neat rows add unexpected colour to a door. They don’t have to be neat of course, they would also look great displayed randomly.


Or how about pegging art to the line? I’ve hung up some string, then used miniature pegs to attach inexpensive IKEA cards. Family photos look lovely displayed in this way.



One of my favourite artists is Mark Ryden. Here, I’ve framed a series of his art postcards in detailed white frames and hung them randomly above my white sideboard. I’ve accessorised in white too, with vases, and my thrift store suitcase and jewellery tin. The red metal letter A picks up the red cross on the tin.

I’ve decorated a thin strip of wall near the bathroom with colourful typography. I’ve hung metal and wooden letters and small scrabble tile canvasses from floor to ceiling. I like to display art in unusual places.


You don’t have to stick with art or photography. Here I’ve used a selection of jewellery and thrift store crucifixes to liven up a small section of the bedroom wall. Using all the same motif helps to create a cohesive display.

Sometimes, you don’t need a detailed piece, just a big hit of colour will do. I covered this large square canvas with inexpensive cotton fabric and it brings colour above the bedhead. I must have recovered this about twenty times, depending on what colour takes my fancy at the time. All you need is a staple gun. I like to pick up old canvasses from thrift stores for a fraction of the price. It doesn’t matter what the art is, it’s only going to be covered anyway.


A particularly inspiring piece can be pegged to the bed side lamp shade, so it’s the first thing you see when you wake up. Cute and easy.
I hope these suggestions have inspired you to revamp your art, and create a statement in your home. Of course there are many other interesting ways to live with art. Stay tuned and I’ll bring you some more ideas very soon.

Special thanks to Zombling. Click on the Society 6 link, then search for Zombling to find his wonderful photography.
You can also follow him on Instagram. (@zombling)

15 thoughts on “Creative Display – Art and Photography

    • Ha ha! I find myself moving things around and tweaking them constantly. Changing the artwork can change the whole room. I agree that my walls are a work in progress too. I don’t think my decor will ever be truly “finished”

  1. I like the way you’re always moving things around. What do you use on the way to temporarily hold your awesome galleries in place? I’ve found those 3m thingy’s actually do leave a mark.

  2. Lovely lovely gallery – I have began a similar wall gallery for my daughters bedroom as to date I have only had hanging lanterns and they look lost in the space- I placed the temporary hooks in place for 24 hrs just to be sure, went to hang the peices and they all fell down!! distress! What do you use?

    • Oh no! Every now and then an artwork comes crashing down in my house, usually at midnight, just so I wake up in a panic! For heavier artwork I usually hammer in hooks, but for lighter things I use 3M velcro hanging strips. They seem to do the trick. Sometimes the paint on the wall can be the problem. The adhesive doesn’t stick to all surfaces. Also make sure to clean the wall first and be sure it’s completely dry. Good luck.

  3. Do you have any preferences about the background color? Do you like to stick to neutrals? I was buying mineral water in interesting bottles today, planning to do a display a la the Fabulous Scavenger, but it seems to me that my displays don’t stand out and draw attention like yours do, and it made me think about the backgrounds.

    • Because I live in a rented house, all my walls are very neutral. I’d love a colourful feature wall or two, but alas! no chance. You could always try leaning artwork against the wall behind your display of bottles to bring in a bit of colour, or even frame paper, newspaper, gift wrap, fabric. You can also bring in a bit of colour with the flowers you choose to put in the bottles.

Leave a Reply

