Colour Combination – Hot Pink and Orange

What an exciting colour combination hot pink and orange is. Two equally hot, vibrant colours, working beautifully together to energise an interior scheme. Hints of these colours work well with a white scheme, or you can go bold and use them in large amounts. In my opinion they don’t overpower, but create excitement. Here’s how I used this colour combination as part of my decor.

Here’s a simple display on a sideboard. A hot pink resin platter leaning against the wall creates height. Of course I couldn’t do orange without my beloved Penguin paperbacks. A stack of them brings a hit of colour. The artwork is a card that I framed, and I used an orange juice bottle as a vase.

Here’s a coffee table display. A framed mirror is being used as a tray, with the resin platter and a pink bowl filled with oranges displayed on top.


Dressed with this colour combination, the bed looks warm and inviting. A mix of cushions in orange and hot pink fabrics, and the crochet blanket I picked up in a thrift store looks fresh and colourful against a plain white quilt cover. In the top photo, the orange vintage bed spread was picked up for a bargain price in a thrift store,

A sweet little display on the mantel. The wooden letter was bought cheaply at a discount store. I painted it myself.


Here’s the lounge room with an orange and pink makeover. I covered the round ottoman with inexpensive polka dot fabric. The cushions bring colour to the chocolate brown lounge, and the colours are continued on the mantel and the side table.


My orange crochet rug makes a great throw for the lounge.

On the side table in the lounge room, I’ve displayed orange books in a large lantern for something a bit quirky and unusual. The bowl adds a pop of pink. The fish artwork is another card that I framed in an inexpensive frame.
Don’t forget, flowers can bring in colour too. Imagine a big bunch of orange calendula, or pink roses. Displayed on a pedestal of books with colour blocked spines, the look is stunning.
What a wonderful colour combination. I hope you like it too.

10 thoughts on “Colour Combination – Hot Pink and Orange

  1. I love the framed card idea and really adore the lantern decor.. But you have fantastic taste all around. I love these colors together, though I’ve never thought about it before.

  2. Haha! watched kath and Kim the other night, can’t wait for the movie!!
    As for your colour combo – Love! Fab makeover on the ottoman, you’re way too clever!

Leave a Reply

