Five Minute Fabulous – Paint it White

As you may know I save bottle and jars. I soak off the labels, give them a good scrub, then stash them away until I need them. I use them for vases, for displaying things, for storage. Every now and then I feel the need to customise a handful of jars to give them a new look.
In today’s five minute project, a bit of spray paint is all that’s needed to transform some old jars into something a bit more special. I needed a table centrepiece for a dinner party, and it needed to be cheap, cheerful and quick.

Here’s a few of the jars before I attacked them with spray paint.


I used a cheap can of matt white spray paint from a discount store. I painted some jars on the outside, for a matt ceramic look, and some on the inside for a glossy white glass effect. Use short bursts of paint, and don’t hold the spray can too close. I let the paint dry while I was busy doing other dinner party preparations. When it came time to set the table, I grouped the jars in the centre of the table and filled them with lovely glossy camellia foliage. Party decor sorted!

Once the party was over, I just relocated the jars to the mantel, where they look lovely amongst the art works. I don’t know about you but I think these would look fabulous as wedding decor too.
Of course, if white isn’t your thing, try other colours. I like all one colour, but a mixture of brights would look amazing too. Imagine hot pink jars filled with orange flowers. Or mint green paint with pink flowers, or turquoise, or silver. Oh my, I feel another craft project coming on!

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Fabulous – Paint it White

  1. Can I tell you how much I enjoy your posts? It’s like getting to see cool thrifting finds in another corner of the world and then having them revamped to inspire design ideas. You have a great eye!

  2. What a great idea! I love that you thought to spray the inside too! I feel a craft project coming in also, haha

    • Glad you like it. It’s amazing how different the effects are. A chalky ceramic feel when painted on the outside, or a smooth glass look when painted on the inside. My tip would be to expect paint all over your hands when painting the inside. Oh, and allow lots of drying time. What you don’t see in the blog photos are finger prints from handling the jars before they are dry. Oops!

Leave a Reply

