Friday Finds – Suitcases, Dominos and Yet Another Book.

Hello my friends, and welcome to this week’s Friday Finds. Not a lot in terms of quantity this week, but that’s not what it’s all about. I’ve picked up a freebie, and a couple of bargains I’d love to show you.

First up in this week’s show and tell are these suitcases. I picked up the brown one for $9 at my local thrift store, and the blue one was a freebie. I pulled up in the carpark of the thrift store to find an employee throwing out a pile of stuff that must have been dumped by the bin overnight. I saw the suitcase amongst the debris, jumped out of my car and asked him if I could have it. He just shrugged, and quick as a flash that sweet blue lovely was in the boot of my car before he could change his mind.

My next find was a packet of dominos. A bargain at only $2. Although they are plastic, they have a nice bone colour, with rounded edges that give them a vintage look. As you may know I love anything with numbers or letters involved, so I was pretty excited to find these. I also picked up another Penguin paperback for my ever growing stack of orange books.

So, what did I do with these new finds? The dominos went straight into my $4 discount store jar. I’m planning on buying more of these. One is not enough to display all the bits and pieces I pick up on my travels. The little grey aftershave bottle was given to me by my Dad. He know’s me too well! And you may remember the white glass jar. It is an ancient marmite jar that my son pulled out of the creek bed! I picked the geranium from my parent’s garden, and the orange nasturtium from my garden. They make a lovely display sitting on the book.

Or, here it is without the book, with the science beaker I picked up from a thrift store a few weeks ago. A few sculptural sticks from the tree out the front add height to the display, and complete the look.

A cute stack of vintage suitcases makes a great bed side table. Don’t the colours look wonderful with my thrifted lamp shade and scarf tied to the cushion.

And here is the blue suitcase being very useful, holding some of my craft materials.
So there you have it, this week’s treasures. I’d just like to say a big thank you to all the delightful people who read and follow my blog, and leave me wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it, and it makes me happy that so many of your share my love of all things found, free, vintage and fabulous!

11 thoughts on “Friday Finds – Suitcases, Dominos and Yet Another Book.

    • I knew the minute I hit publish that I shouldn’t have written not to pay for flowers. In fact, I think I’ll go back and edit that sentence. I used to be a florist after all! I do buy flowers, but when I just need a little stem here and there I like to pick them myself…….Anyway, how awesome is the freebie suitcase! I’m super excited about that little gem! Thanks for the feedback my friend.

  1. Oh My Gosh!! That suitcase!! Some people have no clue what lovely treasures they have…. which is a good thing for us! I am still collecting gold frames, I picked up another one at a garage sale today… I just need to find a spare wall to put them all one haha!!

    Love your work!!
    Kel xx

    • Nice! I actually never think to go to garage sales, but they are a fabulous spot to find treasures. I must start going. And as for the suitcase, it really is true that one person’s trash is another person’s treasure! Thanks for your lovely feedback my friend!

  2. Pingback: Be my guest: Suitcase Vignettes « Librarian for Life Style

Leave a Reply

