Friday Finds – Chemistry Beaker, Candle Stick and Spirit Level

This weeks Friday Finds are another eclectic lot. First of all, the amazing vintage spirit level! It was a $4 find at a church thrift store. It was made in Birmingham and there was no way I was leaving without it! I have a crafty project in mind, so stay tuned to see what becomes of it. I also grabbed a cute little glass plate and a silver candle stick, both less than $2 each, and a science beaker.

The science beaker was only $2. I love all things science lab so I was very excited when I found it. You know how you spot something across a crowded room, and time stops and you are there in a flash to grab it off the shelf? Well, that’s what happened when I saw the science beaker.


It makes a lovely, simple vase. I picked these flowers from the garden outside the church. Heading towards winter there aren’t many flowers in my garden, so I get them from wherever I can. A house devoid of fresh flowers makes me sad. I love the measurements and numbers on the side. This could actually be quite handy in the kitchen!

It also looks great holding fresh herbs from the garden.

I thought I’d make another cake stand out of the candle stick and the plate. I like the combination of materials. I’m getting quite a collection of cake stands now, both made by me and bought from thrift stores. But I think you can never have too many!

I also picked up four tiny little vintage glass dishes during my thrift store adventures. Two of them are ashtrays. They cost me a whopping $1.50 for the lot…….I love thrift shopping.

Four dishes – four uses. I used the first one to hold some of my jewellery. It’s sitting here on my dressing table with a thrift store vase, and a little bird’s nest I found in my front yard. Always keep your eyes open because you never know what you may find. Anything can be used as decoration I say.
Incidently, the pearls were a $4 find from a vintage market. I bought some for me and some for my daughter, who didn’t take them off for about a month. You’re never too young for glamour.

The second one is being used as a pretty place to dump loose change at the end of the day.

The third one is being used to hold buttons in a display of thrifty treasures in the entrance hall.

And the forth dish is in the bathroom, being used as a place to put my rings when I’m washing my hands. Pretty cute idea I think.
Have you been having thrift store success? Please feel free to leave me a message and tell me about your fabulous finds, or any suggestions you may have. I’d love to hear from you.

6 thoughts on “Friday Finds – Chemistry Beaker, Candle Stick and Spirit Level

  1. Wonderful finds Sam!! The beaker looks so beautiful with the lavender. Love the glass dish and candle stick too. You’ve done it again! πŸ™‚

  2. You post the best thrift shop finds! P.S I love that last picture because Sukin is one of my favourite product lines! such fresh smelling natural products soooo good!

Leave a Reply

