Cake Stand – Update

I was thrilled to receive some photos today from Renea, who has been checking out my blog since it started. My post on making cake stands from thrift store finds inspired her to make her own. I love that she mixed up the materials, and used glass and metal. They look amazing.


I love the frosted glass base with the metal top. They look really quirky and unique and they make a fabulous table display. I’m so glad that my blog has been an inspiration.

I’ve got another cake stand happening too. Right now it’s in the design stage. I think this amber glass plate would look lovely with a tall glass candle stick for a base.

What do you think? I think the elements work well together and I like the scale. I think the time has come to break out the glue and start creating the latest masterpiece.

2 thoughts on “Cake Stand – Update

  1. Thanks Sam!! I loved making them, they were so easy but I never would have thought of doing this if you hadn’t suggested it! 🙂 I LOVE your amber glass cake stand, you should definitely go ahead, it looks fab. Just FYI, I bought the little vase for $1 and the other raised silver server for $8 ( it’s silver plated). The little tablecloth was also $1! I’m a scavenger too!! haha

Leave a Reply

