Cupboard Revamp

This little cupboard lives in my entrance hall. I’ve had it for years and have always loved it, but my dark brown floor was swallowing it up, and I decided it needed a change of image. After coming to the conclusion that everything I own can’t be painted red, I decided on a fetching shade of mint green. Because I wanted an aged, chipped effect, I didn’t sand it back first.

Before the makeover. The contents of the cupboard are hidden with wrapping paper stuck to the back of the doors.

Here’s the paint job before I attacked it with a paint scraper. Nice, but it still needed a bit of character.

I scraped the paint away, revealing the dark wood underneath. I concentrated on the edges and corners, and around the handles. All places that would naturally show wear. Now it looks amazing against the dark floorboards. It’s a great spot to display some of my treasures, including my repurposed medicine bottles. Have a wander around your house. Have you got any old furniture that could do with a bit of a revamp? This is an easy craft project that even kids can help with, because it doesn’t matter if it’s a bit rough!

4 thoughts on “Cupboard Revamp

  1. Wow! Amazing what a difference paint makes! I can’t wait to paint my mirror now, it’s going to look so much better. I promise to give you before and afters!

  2. You know what I think?

    I think you are Roald Dahl’s Mathilda – but in grown up mode.

    I have never ever seen you craft or clean or rearrange, but every time I see your space, it is immaculate.

    I bet you wiggle your finger around, and all the mess just dances in the air, awaiting further direction from you.

    And then you sit perched on the couch all day with a book in your lap, reading fabulous things.

Leave a Reply

